Emory Bankruptcy Developments Journal

Introduction: A Tribute To David Epstein
Gene Goldmintz  

Each year, the Emory Bankruptcy Developments Journal honors an individual who has made a significant impact on the field of bankruptcy law with the Distinguished Service Award for Lifetime Achievement. Past recipients of the Distinguished Service Award include The Honorable William L. Norton, Jr. (1999); Kenneth N. Klee (2000); Frank R. Kennedy (2001); Harvey R. Miller (2002); The Honorable David H. Coar (2003); Gerald K. Smith (2004); The Honorable Conrad B. Duberstein (2005); Senator Dennis W. DeConcini (2006); The Honorable W. Homer Drake, Jr. (2007); Douglas G. Baird (2008); Senator Elizabeth Warren (2009); Barry W. Ridings (2010); Tony Alvarez II and Bryan Marsal (2011); Justice Geoffrey B. Morawetz (2012); and Richard Levin (2013). On April 2, 2014, we presented David Epstein with the Sixteenth Annual Distinguished Service Award for Lifetime Achievement.

David Epstein is a professor and George E. Allen Chair at the University of Richmond School of Law. Professor Epstein has split his career between academia and private practice, having served as dean of Emory University School of Law and the University of Arkansas School of Law; as professor at Southern Methodist University School of Law, University of Texas School of Law, and the University of North Carolina School of Law; as partner for nine years at King & Spalding in Atlanta; and having been of counsel at Haynes & Boone in Dallas, Texas. He has also served as a visiting professor at Harvard Law School, Georgetown University Law Center, the University of Michigan Law School, the New York University Law School, and the University of Chicago Law School. His courses have ranged from bankruptcy, property, and contracts to “Baseball, Body Parts & Rosa Parks.”

Professor Epstein has authored student and practitioner texts and law review articles on bankruptcy, contracts, corporate law, and the Uniform Commercial Code. In 2004, the Commercial Law League of America honored him with their Lawrence P. King Award for Excellence in the Field of Bankruptcy. Professor Epstein is an elected conferee of the National Bankruptcy Conference and an elected fellow of the American College of Bankruptcy.

Professor Epstein can lay claim to having educated hundreds of thousands of America’s lawyers, having served as BARBRI’s lecturer for contracts for over twenty-five years.

Professor Epstein received a B.A. from the University of Texas in 1964, a J.D. from the University of Texas School of Law in 1966, and an LL.M. from Harvard Law School. He has permitted us to include a revised version of the acceptance speech. Please join us in celebrating the significant accomplishments of Professor Epstein.


Editor-in-Chief, Emory Bankruptcy Developments Journal.