Main content

Emory Law announces 2018 winner of Tina L. Stark Award

Emory University School of Law |

Carol NewmanAt its sixth biennial conference on the teaching of transactional law and skills held on June 1 and 2, 2018, Emory University School of Law announced the selection of Carol D. Newman, transactional professor of law at the University of Missouri School of Law, as the inaugural winner of the Tina L. Stark Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Transactional Law and Skills. The award honors an individual who has made significant contributions to the field of transactional law and skills education. Specifically, the winner must have demonstrated that he or she is:

  • committed to training students to be practice-ready transactional attorneys;
  • dedicated to engaging, inspiring, motivating, and nurturing students;
  • devoted to teaching with passion, using creative and innovative methods;
  • known for achievement in curriculum or program development and pedagogy; and
  • pledged to advance the cause of transactional law and skills education. 

An independent committee selected Newman from a national field of highly qualified nominees. Among other factors, the committee noted Newman’s leadership in the field of transactional law and skills, success in teaching in diverse academic environments, development and advancement of semester-long and immersion courses in transactional law and skills, and commitment to training the next generation of transactional lawyers.

The award is named for Tina L. Stark, who is known internationally for her expertise and innovation in legal education and the teaching of transactional law and skills. In 2007, she became Emory Law’s first professor in the practice of law and the founding executive director of the school’s Center for Transactional Law and Practice, transforming a nascent transactional curriculum into one that both practitioners and academics have recognized for its excellence. She is the author of the widely adopted textbook, Drafting Contracts: How and Why Lawyers Do What They Do (2d ed. Aspen 2013), and the editor-in-chief and a co-author of Negotiating and Drafting Contract Boilerplate (ALM Publishing 2003).