Main content

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Emory Law students

Our Core Values at Work

Our thriving community of scholars and leaders champion diversity and equality in the legal profession. In 1962, Emory Law led the Southeast in integrating legal education with the historic case Emory v. Nash. Today, Emory Law continues to embrace a commitment to diversity and inclusion among students, faculty, and staff.

Goals

  • Cultivate a sense and reality of an inclusive community
  • Collaborative planning of short and long-term programs and initiatives to influence Emory Law’s path to becoming a diverse, equitable and inclusive community in theory and fact
  • Work within the strategic planning process to revise Emory Law’s mission, values, and goals to indicate commitment to antiracism
  • Support university commitments to, inter alia, hire and retain a diverse staff and faculty
  • Host student-led antiracism and academic freedom forum/creative expressions
  • Support Emory Immigration Coalition Initiative and university-led LGBTQ programs 

Programming

In 2020, DEI initiatives began with several activities, including:

  • Focus groups held with faculty and staff
  • Promotion of the lecture series Conversations About 20th Century Racism, a digital series that featured prominent scholars from the Emory University community.
  • An exclusive screening of the documentary John Lewis: Good Trouble
  • Promotion of the Emory University Center for Ethics’ webinar “How to be an Anti-Racist” featuring Dr. Ibram X. Kendi
  • Student Forum: Building an Inclusive Emory Law Community

Recognition


Selected Student Affinity Groups

Student Organization

President

Asian Pacific American Law Students Association (APALSA)

Chelsea (Soyoung) Kim, soyoung.kim@emory.edu

Association of International Law Students

Ha Khuong, ha.t.khuong@emory.edu

Black Law Student Association (BLSA)

Annia Rochester, annia.rochester@emory.edu

Chinese American Law Students Assocation (CALSA)

Youduo (Jimmy) Wang, jimmy.wang@emory.edu

Christian Legal Society (CLS)

Rachel Kennedy, rachel.kennedy@emory.edu

Jewish Law Students Association (JLSA)

Aviya Zarur, aviya.zarur@emory.edu; Ron Feingold, rfeing2@emory.edu

Latin American Law Students Association (LALSA)

Ariana Ortiz, ariana.ortiz@emory.edu

Legal Association for Women Students (LAWS)

Kelly Nguyen, kelly.nguyen2@emory.edu

Middle Eastern Law Students Association (MELSA)

Dina Awshah, dina.awshah@emory.edu

Muslim Law Students Association (MLSA)

Brynner Batista, brynner.h.batista@emory.edu

OUTLaw

Aaren Lasky, aaren.lasky@emory.edu

South Asian Law Student Association (SALSA)

Binjal Chaudhari, binjal.chaudhari@emory.edu

Milestones

Milestone
Is there a moment in Emory Law's history that reflects our growth toward a more inclusive environment? Share milestones, historic achievements, and personal victories with us.

Email Us