Main content

Emory Public Interest Committee (EPIC) Grants

Rhyan Davis EPIC Grant 2023

Since 1989, EPIC grants have provided funding for students taking unpaid summer internships with legal services organizations, government agencies, and the judiciary, enabling students passionate about public interest to explore potential public service careers, build valuable legal skills and professional networks, and provide much needed legal services in their communities.

Students receiving EPIC grants are active public service leaders who have served a minimum of 20 public service hours during the preceding school year and have participated in public interest conferences and events. (For a detailed list of requirements, see the FAQs below).

EPIC relies on our generous sponsors and donors to make these grants possible.

Download EPIC Application (Word Document) »

2024 EPIC Grants FAQS »

Deadline: The application deadline for the 2024 EPIC Grant is Monday, April 1, 2024, at 11:59 p.m. EST.

Questions? Email

Justice John Paul Stevens Public Interest Fellowships

Emory Law is pleased to administer the Justice John Paul Stevens Public Interest Fellowship Program in coordination with the EPIC grant application process. This program is generously funded by the Justice John Paul Stevens Foundation

The Stevens Fellowship process is selective. Stevens Fellows meet all the requirements of the EPIC grant program, and must have secured full-time, unpaid summer work at a legal services or government agency. Private sector "public interest" law firms may also qualify; however, judicial internships do not qualify. 

In addition to meeting the EPIC requirements, Stevens Fellows must demonstrate a strong commitment to public interest law and must show that their summer work is consistent with the mission of the John Paul Stevens Fellowship Foundation "to protect and promote democracy and the rule of law, access to justice, and equality."

Students apply for Stevens Fellowships through the EPIC grant application.

2024 Justice John Paul Stevens Fellows

  • Jillian Barger 26L | U.S. Attorney’s Office, Northern District of Georgia
  • Diamond Belgrave 25L | DeKalb County Office of the Public Defender
  • Hannah Krawczyk 25L | Georgia Resource Center
  • Andrew Newell 26L | Georgia Asylum and Immigration Network
  • Carolyn Paul 25L | Georgia Justice Project
  • Jack Tolbert 26L | U.S. Attorney’s Office, Southern District of Florida

2024 EPIC Grant Recipients

  • Madeira Alexander 26L | U.S. EEOC, Hearings Unit (Atlanta, GA)
  • Sydney Balan 26L | Charlotte Center for Legal Advocacy
  • Andrew Bathrick 26L | Cobb County District Attorney’s Office
  • Madison Blair 26L | DeKalb County Office of the Public Defender
  • Hayley Borsey 26L | Atlanta Volunteer Lawyers’ Foundation, Safe Families Office (Paul J. Murphy Grant)
  • Adelina Branescu 25L | U.S. Attorney’s Office, Middle District of Georgia
  • Caleb Britton 26L | The Hon. Catherine M. Salinas, U.S. District Court, Northern District of Georgia
  • Kathryn Brockett 25L | The Hon. Deah Warren, Douglas County Superior Court
  • Lane Cannon 25L | DeKalb County District Attorney’s Office
  • Selena Coppa 25L | Federal Defender’s Office, Western District of Washington
  • Kiera Crandall 25L | Contra Costa County Public Defenders (California)
  • Brandon Dodds 25L | Atlanta Legal Aid Society, Home Defense Program (Frank S. Alexander Fellowship)
  • Jackson Downs 25L | Fulton County Public Defender’s Office
  • Patrick Dunlap 25L | Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts (Washington, D.C.)
  • Thomas Furlong Jr. 25L | Tenderloin Housing Clinic (San Francisco, CA)
  • Connor Fuson 26L | Cobb County District Attorney’s Office
  • Abby Hatch 25L | DeKalb County Office of the Public Defender
  • Micah Jones 26L | Alaska Department of Law
  • Ryan Kim 26L | Emory Law Volunteer Clinic for Veterans (Paul J. Murphy Grant)
  • Eduardo Moeller 26L | The Hon. Michael L. Brown, U.S. District Court, Northern District of Georgia
  • Gabriel Olmeda 26L | U.S. Department of Education, Office of Civil Rights (Atlanta, GA)
  • Joseph Park 25L | U.S. Attorney’s Office, Middle District of Georgia
  • Charlotte Ramirez 26L | The Hon. Kenneth D. Bell, U.S. District Court, Western District of North Carolina
  • Taylor Reilly 25L | U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Community Living (Washington, D.C.)
  • Genevieve Rowlands 26L | U.S. Department of Agriculture, Office of the General Counsel (Atlanta, GA)
  • Jesse Rudnick 26L | DeKalb County Office of the Public Defender
  • Eshika Talukder 26L | The Hon. Deah Warren, Douglas County Superior Court
  • Rebecca Weisberger 26L | Queens County Criminal Court (New York)

Past John Paul Stevens Fellows

  • 2023 Fellows: Martin Berg 24L, Niamh Creedon-Carey 24L, Jacob DeFazio 21C 24L, Carolyn Paul 25L, Kendall Schutzer 23PH 23L, Daniel Xu 24L
  • 2022 Fellows: Martin Berg 24L, Karian Chard 24L, Madison Dodge 23L, Victoria Olender 23L, Alex Passe 24L, Emily Spears 23L, Sydney Calas 23L
  • 2021 Fellows: Mary Katherine Karcher 23L, Naomi-Beth McCall 23L, Teddy Randel 22L, Megan Toomer 23L
  • 2020 Fellows: Stephanie Bauer 21L, J. Michael Babineau 21L, Kyle Obiora 21L
  • 2019 Fellows: Luce Randall 21L, Dru Selden 21L
  • 2018 Fellows: Lukas Alfen 19L, Anna Leigh Keith 20L, Linden Wait 20L
  • 2017 Fellows: Carly Rabner 19L, Brandon Scheck 19L
  • 2016 Fellows: Morgan Bridgman 18L, Amanda Quiles 17L
  • 2015 Fellows: Kaitlyn Barnes 17L, Amelia Todd 16L
  • 2014 Fellows: Rachel Berman 15L, Caitlyn Wade 15L
  • 2013 Fellows: Rebecca J. Hallum 14L, Margaret L. Riley 14L
  • 2012 Fellows: Ruth W. Dawon 12L 12MPH, Jamie C. Schickler 13L